Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 19th, 2014

Originally published in the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, February 13, 1985

By Jean Godden

Left: Ed "Catfish" Banchero, age 10, working at The People's Meat Market in Black Diamond. Right: Pete Frederickson in his butcher shop.

Left: Ed “Catfish” Banchero, age 10, working at The People’s Meat Market in Black Diamond. Right: Pete Frederickson in his butcher shop.

Eddie Banchero’s childhood friends still call him “Catfish.” As Banchero tells the story, the nickname stems from a swimming accident in Black Diamond years ago.

“We’d gone for a dip in Jones Lake, wearing our natural bathing suits,” he says. “I didn’t know how to swim, and the next thing I knew I was in deep water. When they pulled me out, they said, ‘Look at the big catfish we caught.’ I’ve had the name ever since.”

Catfish Banchero rocks with laughter. (more…)

Read Full Post »