Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 27th, 2016

Originally published in the Voice of the Valley, February 27, 1974

VALLEY LANDMARK: The Hobart home site of Hubert and Pat Peacock. “Peacock’s Roost,” the second floor of the second building from the left, served for 20 years as a center for square dancers. The Peacocks are now living in it, having moved from their former residence, the first building seen on the left. (VOICE photo by Lowell Lorenz.)

VALLEY LANDMARK: The Hobart home site of Hubert and Pat Peacock. “Peacock’s Roost,” the second floor of the second building from the left, served for 20 years as a center for square dancers. The Peacocks are now living in it, having moved from their former residence, the first building seen on the left. (VOICE photo by Lowell Lorenz.)

By Laura Lorenz

A Peacock family has roosted at a Hobart home site since 1888.

The original home has had its face lifted throughout the years, enabling it to keep up with the needs of the five generations it has sheltered.

The home is nestled in a horseshoe-shaped valley looking towards the Cascade foothills and its driveway leads up the hill to S.E. 208th Street, known by old-timers as the McKibbon Road, but now referred to as the cemetery road. (more…)

Read Full Post »